IS14 Siglufjördur to Akureyri

A part of the 14th tour in my Iceland Adventure are the tunnels through the big mountains and then a beautiful fjord. In the evening we had a small midsummer party in the cosy „Akureyri Backpackers“

#guidolange #adventureiceand #icelandadventure #bikepacker #bikepacking #olafsfjördur #dalvik #akureyri #icelandnorth #biketravel #bikeadventure #adventuretravel #ampelpublishing #poisonbikes

I wanted to at least pay tribute to the harbor of Siglufjördur, with all the colorful houses, it may not be so important not to have seen them up close.

Handsome marina in the very north of Iceland

Most of it is boats for deep sea fishing, a rather brutal hobby by the way. The fishing rods are not comparable to the equipment used at the village pond at home. To get the huge fish on board in the end, it only helps to hit a hook into the living hull. I have seen this on videos of “Fisch&Fang”. Especially men seem to like it.

Zum deutschen Blog gehe auf abenteuerbaltikum.com
Framed by mountain ranges

As befits a fjord, it is framed by mountains that also have snowcaps.

In the valley the lupine is rampant

Spring is coming to Siglufjördur, I thought, when I saw the clearing weather. But I was dreading today’s stage. It’s only 80 km short, but there are insane meters of elevation accounted for. And yes – the mountains all around are high!

To have a look on my books , ebooks and audiobooks open ampelpublishing.de
Two tunnels in a row

And it actually wasn’t that bad. The first two tunnels were two lanes, I flicked on my lights and then enjoyed the ride. I love tunnels,

Twenty attempts for one photo

There are many stories about tunnels. Recently I saw a US blockbuster, where the uncertainty in the Icelandic tubes was thematized. Outside meters of snow, inside burning cars, but of course everything will be fine.

Back to the light!

Another one was told by the friendly landlord of the book caf’e “Klara” in Olafsfjördur: There is a bike race through all four tunnels nearby. I didn’t find anything about it on the net. He said the total distance is 85 km and there are only two people who have ever done it under two hours. A great thing. I needed 46 minutes just for the two tunnels to Olafsfjördur (17 km). But I am not doing a bike race but a journey.

Kaffi Klara in Olafsfjördur – no idea if the german chancellor is vacationing here.

The place is between the two modern tunnels 3km and 6km long on one side and a narrow single lane tunnel south on the other side. There the cars have to wait when there is oncoming traffic. I had this yesterday already before Siglufjördur.

Museum + ship on the ground

This is not the german chancellor, this is a troll

The weather in the fjord got better the deeper I drove in and at the end is Akureyri.

Nice weather – nice photos

It went up and down to Dalvik and further to Akureyri, but it was not that bad.

The best pictures of my Atlantic Adventure „Abenteuer Atlantik“ are in my YouTube channel
Again and again waterfalls

Where snow lies on the crests, abundant meltwater flows. In Dalvik I stopped also again briefly (km 34). But actually I looked only for something special in this place. There was a tool store and I tried my luck again to buy a bicycle tube. Because there would be the need for it. For sure.

Opposite a magnificent panorama

But he had none, now wants to order a common size and repair kits. I’ve encountered maybe 30 cyclists going around Iceland so far, so there could be about 100 people like that at any one time. In season, that makes maybe 800 bikers, most of whom will encounter a flat tire. This is the market.

At the harbor in Dalvik

From Dalvik, the ferry leaves for Grimsey, the Icelandic island in the Arctic Circle.

Florent, whom I met the day before, had photographed plenty of puffins there, the typical Icelandic birds. He sent me some:

Image: Florent Guimard

Merci bien, cher Florent.

Shortly before Akureyri
Einige hundert Einwohner, die plötzlich dazu kommen

My first mission was the bicycle store. Because there is only one in Akureyri and maybe two in Reykjavik. That was it. They were very nice. I got two Michelins (I’m a big fan of Michelin) and they let me put some of their oil on my chain. Utisport here. Utisport.

Food is important

The downtown of Akureyri, a town of twenty thousand people, is also not smaller than Reykjavik. Many beautiful houses covered with wood. That’s what we tourists like!

The official Akureyry shooting

After dinner I returned to the hostel to have some company. Tomorrow at the latest, I’m on my own again.

Akureyri Backpackers

First there was Jacob from Erfurt and Paolo from Poland (first I thought he was from South America, but that was a fallacy. His name is also not Pavel – then he would be from Czech Republic – but something like that. He is a tour guide for hikers. Jacob, by the way, for skiing and whale watching. After the official closing time it became colorful: Claudia (Madeira), Tera (Texas), Mario (Guatemala), Noel, Jack and a third from Atlanta, Georgia and even more. It’s hard for me to keep track of it all, too.

Eine Genießertour, tausend Male schöner als direkt die Ringstraße No1.

#guidolange #adventureiceand #icelandadventure #bikepacker #bikepacking #olafsfjördur #dalvik #akureyri #icelandnorth #biketravel #bikeadventure #adventuretravel #ampelpublishing #poisonbikes

Author: langeguido

Ich bin Abenteurer und Autor - Blogs: https://abenteuerbaltikum.com https://transkaukasien.com https://ringstrasseisland.wordpress.com Die Büchern dazu gibt's in meinem Verlag AmpelPublishing - https://ampelpublishing.de 30.000 km lief ich in den letzten 12 Jahren, 20.000 km Rad fuhr ich in den letzten 4 Jahren. 3 größere Abenteuer haben mich so beeindruckt, daß ich Bücher dazu gemacht habe: Abenteuer Atlantik - 4.000 km entlang der Westküste Europas: Portugal, Spanien, Frankreich, Belgien,. Niederlande. Abenteuer Transkaukasien - unterwegs im Osten Osteuropas: Russland, Aserbaidschan, Georgien, Ukraine, Österreich zurück nach Deutschland Abenteuer Baltikum - Mein Lauf 2000 km entlang der Ostsee von Stralsund nach Tallinn / Helsinki I‘m a runner and I could tell some short stories about running. 30,000 k I ran in the last twelve years. Two blogs I wrote: 2019 https://transkaukasien.com : Run and travel in Russia, Azerbaidshan, Georgia, Ucraine, Austria and back to Germany. 2017 https://abenteuerbaltikum.com : 2000 km along the Baltic Sea coast - Germany, Poland, Russia, Lituania, Latvia, Estonia, Finland.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started